Ode to Classic Literature…

Standard

I’m a teenager in a world of my own.  It’s hard for me to relate to other people who are my age, because I’m so different than they are.  I don’t read popular books or watch popular movies.  What I really love is classic literature!  Most teens have not heard of the books that I read or if they have, it was because they had to read it for school.

Picture courtesty of:  http://amandaonwriting.tumblr.com

 

Currently, I am reading David Copperfield, by Charles Dickens.  It is so amazing!  The writing style is beautiful and skillful.  Dickens understood humanity so well!

These are some quotes from David Copperfield, so you can have a taste of classic literature, if you’ve never read it before.

“Though perfectly familiar with them, my conduct and manner were different enough 

from theirs to place a space between us.”    

 “He was musing, not speaking to me; so I remained quiet.”

 

“It made me very uncomfortable to have him for a guest,

for I was young then, and unused to disguise what I so strongly felt.” 

Picture courtesy of: http://www.rottentomatoes.com

 

I’m so sad that this kind of book isn’t appreciated by younger people.

Classics are almost always written to show something else or to portray a deeper    meaning, which makes them harder to read than modern books.  I think most people  don’t like how much work these books can take for you to understand them.    Modern-day people just want an exciting adventure book, or a gripping vampire  romance.  I know these books have appeal and are not all bad, but they defiantly  don’t have the same depth as classics do.

For a while I started reading more modern books, and I thought that I really liked  them, but then when I read a classic book again, I thought “Why did I stop reading  these? They’re so good!”

Another thing classics taught me is that people really haven’t changed much.   The  characters in classics are not very different from people now.  They only speak  differently.

 

 

What you would say now:

How you would say this in the 1800’s:

“Who do you have a crush on?”

“Who is the girl that has won the affection of your heart?”

“It was so embarrassing!”

“My cheek turns scarlet when I think of it”

“I had a horrible day!”

“It was a day wrought with sorrow.”

“She’s insane.”

“She’s mad!”

“I’m so sad.”

“My heart is filled with extreme anguish.”

 You get an idea of what the language was like back then.  I know this way of speaking might annoy some people, but trust me, you really do get used to it as the story goes on:-)

 

I really wish more teens would read classic literature!

You know how some people say, “Don’t judge a book by its cover” I like to say “Don’t judge a book by its copyright date!”

5 responses »

  1. This isn’t just a teenage thing. I personally think this is a society thing (obviously society being defined by the majority). Lots of books at present time lack any real heart and passion and i dare say that’s because the general audience for the book also tend to lack that deepness. That’s just my opinion of course but i’m certainly a retro kinda person in general.

  2. May not be classics per-say, but Zack read Grapes Of Wrath this summer and it was all he really wanted to talk about when we got together. It connected him to suffering and hardship. He also read Brave New World (which left me with a sense of creepiness since age 14) and Flowers For Algernon, which we both love.
    You’re right about today’s books. This generation may have leapt forward technologically, but our minds have been dumbed down. We don’t speak as well, think as well, write as well.
    I’ve just read a couple of books having to do Queen Elizabeth I and Mary Queen of Scott’s (1572) and I spite of the elevated language, the people were barbarians at heart. So literacy doesn’t reflect morality. You can be downright retarded and be pure at heart.

Leave a Reply

